{2014} year of…

So now that it is pretty much February, I decided I should probably write this post.  I’ve had my word for the year picked out since the beginning of January, but debated whether or not to share it.  I don’t think I have shared it with anyone (except God) so far.  By posting about it though, I’ll feel more accountable to it and maybe by writing out my thoughts on it I will understand it better myself!

IMG_0104

So here I go…2014:: year of bittachon. 

I’ve never really done a “word of the year” just heard about others doing it.  But for some reason I really wanted one this year.  I started praying about it the end of last year and after a few weeks through different things I knew what God wanted it to be. Somewhere along the lines of “trust.” I’m kind of weird though and wanted it to be more abstract.  So I looked up “trust” in Hebrew. (what could be more abstract than that? :) ) The word that I found after researching on lots of different sites was bittachon.

“Trust in God is called bittachon in Hebrew, a word that comes from a root word meaning ‘to lean on, feel safe, be confident.'”

And then I knew that was it.  Year of bittachon~putting my trust in the Lord. Having confidence in Someone greater.  Leaning on His promises. 

IMG_0102

 

God’s been laying it on my heart to learn to trust HIM more.  Throughout decisions in my life, times when I feel overwhelmed, confused, discouraged, whatever it may be. And the way the Hebrew word bittachon says it is just what my prayer is for this year. I want to lean fully on God and rely on HIM alone for my strength.  I want to feel safe in HIS arms.  And I want to live confidently because I’m trusting HIS perfect plan for me.  I want to lose myself in HIM and find who I’m truly made to be.  HIS daughter, pursuing HIM, loving HIM, and trusting HIM always.  That’s where confidence comes from!

IMG_0122

So this year through every up and every down I’m whispering…bittachon. Jesus I trust you. 

IMG_0123

 

“You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast because he trusts in you.  Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord, is the Rock eternal.”  ~Isaiah 26:3

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.” ~Jeremiah 17:7

 

( quote from http://www.hebrew4christians.com/Meditations/Bittachon/bittachon.html)

Leave a Reply

